jump to navigation

Service dog helps disabled vet 26 July 08

Posted by turtlemom3 in Uncategorized.
trackback

Yet another article about how a wonderful, well trained mobility service dog is helping his disabled partner. Check it out. Has some marvelous pictures!!

Service dog helps disabled vet

By Laura Forbes
Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 8:20 p.m.

Eight years after he was injured in a military training exercise, a Colorado Springs man is gaining some of his independence back, thanks to one loyal dog, and the program that paired them up.

It is called “Canine Companions for Independence.” It costs about $50,000 to train each dog, but through donations, owners get them for free.

Jay Huston was in an airborne exercise when his parachute malfunctioned. The impact fractured his spine in two places. On top of that, tests revealed he had a spine disorder he had lived with all his life, making many movements difficult and painful.

“Some days you just don’t feel like getting out of bed,” said Huston.

That’s how he felt for eight years, through 10 surgeries that fused together nearly all of his spine. “From C3 all the way down to my pelvis, I’m solid rods and plates.”

It made him dependent on others for the most simple of tasks, until a black Labrador-golden retriever mix named Timo came along. [– MORE –]

I can hardly wait for my Woof to get here and help me become more independent!! It’s really strange to be in limbo, working to raise money, waiting for my Woof, and reading of others who have theirs!

Despite being an “old fat grandmother,”  I’m  convinced I will be appealing enough to enough people that they will contribute to my cause. Have to get my hair done more attractively and get my daughter to do my make up for some pictures. Wear some of my less casual clothing. All those other kinds of things that make you look better. But I also need to look needy! What a weird balance to have to strike!

Well, time to get my dear daughter involved with that part of it, and the head of my neighborhood association involved, too. She’s a go-getter, and if I  can get her involved, I’m sure some things will Happen!

So I’m off to get some more things rolling! Never give up! Never surrender!

By Grabthar’s Hammer … by the Sons of Warvan … I SHALL prevail!

And if you recognize those quotes, you need to stop watching old movies and get a life! WAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

