jump to navigation

LETTER FROM AUBREY, PAALS Service Dog in Training 13 July 08

Posted by turtlemom3 in Uncategorized.
trackback

Dear Friends of PAALS,

Well I think I know what it’s like to be a rock star, as you humans say!  I went to visit a boy who might be my forever friend and service human partner.  His nickname is Smith and his family hosted a swimathon to help raise money for PAALS.  I took a long car ride with some of my other PAALS to Charleston this month so I could show my support.

There were fun kids everywhere at the Hobcaw Yacht Club pool and they all knew my name!  I love the water so my trainers helped me by having me practice staying on a mat that we call “place” near the pool.  I did GREAT if I do say so myself.  Seems like all my hard work is paying off.  Except I don’t know why they wouldn’t let me eat all the great food that people dropped around the buffet table.  It was all going to waste!  Bread is my favorite, but I wanted to show everyone how good I could be so I laid under the dinner table while my new friend Smith sat to eat.

I got to stay overnight at my old fosters’ house, Mike and Peggy, and to see my puppy foster, Leanne.  I played with my old friend, Gus, and even went for a run in my old neighborhood.  Then, I met another dog I might live with at Smith’s house, Harry.  He’s small and cute!  I jumped on the trampoline with Smith’s mom – wow, that was wild!  Then I got to practice my training in Smith’s playroom.  I “hugged” him and let him lay on my belly.  I think we are going to be great friends, but first I need to get ready for, DogGone Days of Summer Camp from July 21st-August 8th.

Guess what?  I was on TV.  See I told you I am a rock star as ABC in Charleston interviewed us for a feature story.  I hope this will help raise the rest of my training costs as we still have about  $15,000 left.  But, I figure if a group of kids I had never met before could raise $8,000 maybe someone reading this will come up with another great way to help!  Can’t wait to get back to Charleston and get to work!

Yours in Service,

Aubrey

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

