jump to navigation

As I Said . . . 13 April 08

Posted by turtlemom3 in ADA, Service Dogs.
trackback

. . . on Turtle rock –

I’m awfully busy for the next period of time, and posts will be sparse.

So, I’ll be reduced to simply reporting news articles 1 – 2 times a week for the time being.

I’m sorry. I’ll be back as soon as I can – promise!!

= = = = =

School Bans Service Dog For Autistic Child

Seven year old Bradley Dallatore depends on his service dog, Jiffy, to help him with his autism. The problem is the dog is banned from his school because the district superintendent says some students are allergic or afraid of the dog.

Thomas Turnbaugh from Washington County, Pennsylvania is finding himself under fire for denying the autistic student access to his certified service dog during school hours. His parents are filing a complaint the Department of Education.

Turnbaugh has even went as far as saying he would not allow a seeing eye dog in schools and would have another student aide a blind child instead. The American Disabilities Act does give protection to those that need service dogs in public areas.

= = = = =

There seems to be an epidemic of this going around! We who are invested in our service dogs may need to band together and get the {shudder} ACLU in on this. There is that school in NY, now this one in PA. I’m getting pretty ticked off. And this district school supervisor says he would even ban seeing eye dogs!! Give me a break!

Comments»

1. Gena - 15 April 08

Look at ya… already worrying about the treats….
I have been reading your blog for the last 2 hours great stuff!


Leave a comment